CR October: the Home issue

The October print issue of Creative Review examines the ideas and organisations that are having an impact on the way we live and the homes we live in

Last summer, when we asked readers which themes they would most like us to cover, the home was by far the most popular choice.

But as this is Creative Review, and our mission is to look at how creativity is changing the world, you won’t find an endless parade of expensive sofas or chi-chi interiors in this issue. Instead, we have the following:

Creative Review October Home issue: the Connected Home
Creative Review October Home issue: the Connected Home

We couldn’t miss out the latest developments in the ‘connected home’: Mark Sinclair takes a look at the latest devices and technologies that are transforming home life

Creative Review October 2015: Constructed Realities
Creative Review October 2015: Constructed Realities

James Pallister explores how visual rendering technologies and powerful new tools such as SketchUp are changing the way that homes are made and sold today

Creative Review October 2015: Jason Orme interviews Alastair Parvin
Creative Review October 2015: Jason Orme interviews Alastair Parvin

Jason Orme interviews Alastair Parvin, the brains behind the WikiHouse

Creative Review October 2015: Rachael Steven on Ikea
Creative Review October 2015: Rachael Steven on Ikea

Rachael Steven goes behind the scenes at Ikea HQ, looking at the brand’s design approaches, as well as its advertising and marketing

Creative Review October 2015: Mark Sinclair on Kvadrat
Creative Review October 2015: Mark Sinclair on Kvadrat

Mark Sinclair talks to Graphic Thought Facility about their design and branding work for Danish textiles company Kvadrat

Creative Review October 2015: Jutaku
Creative Review October 2015: Jutaku

Japan’s weird and wonderful housing design is celebrated in new book, Jutaku: we select our favourites

Creative Review October 2015: Project Lives
Creative Review October 2015: Project Lives

Antonia Wilson reports on Seeing for Ourselves’ Project Lives, a participatory photography project aiming to shift the narrative around New York’s social housing

Creative Review October 2015: Sarah Snaith reviews Tree of Codes
Creative Review October 2015: Sarah Snaith reviews Tree of Codes

In Crit, Sarah Snaith reviews Tree of Codes, a ballet based on Jonathan Safran Foer’s experimental novel of the same name, which premiered at the Manchester International Festival

Creative Review October 2015 Home issue: Visual Impact
Creative Review October 2015 Home issue: Visual Impact

We also have a review of Liz McQuiston’s new book, Visual Impact: Creative Dissent in the 21st Century by Rick Poynor. Unfortunately, due to a production error, the first page of this issue is missing. We will be posting the full article online

Our cover this month features a visualisation of a Claesson Koivisto Rune-designed house by Peter Guthrie for Swedish builder Fiskarhedenvillan

Creative Review Studio Sense supplement
Creative Review Studio Sense supplement

The issue also comes with a free supplement – Studio Sense – in which experts provide advice on various aspects of creative life, including building a great design team, the advantages of integrated production and managing workflows

The October issue of Creative Review is on newsstands now. To guarantee receiving your copy of Creative Review each month,  subscribe here

More from CR

Ballet with an edge

Guy Farrow’s shoot for The English National Ballet was one of our Best in Book winners in the Creative Review Photography Annual 2014. Here’s why

A taste of type

If Futura Extra Bold was a person, what would they be like? Would you go on a date with them? And what does a typeface smell like? Sarah Hyndman’s Type Tasting games question our responses to fonts. Last weekend, she brought a pop-up version of her workshop to the V&A. Natalie Kelter describes what happened

Lecturer Design Management

Kingston University

Design Assistant

Cultureshock Media