Degree shows 2011: Brighton Illustration

B is for Brighton. We always look forward to Brighton’s Illustration degree show as the college seems to have a knack for producing talented graduates…

B is for Brighton. We always look forward to Brighton’s Illustration degree show as the college seems to have a knack for producing talented graduates. This particular illustrated B was created by  Brad Jay specially for the course degree show which is coming to London’s Rochelle School near Brick Lane from July 8-12. Here’s our pick of this year’s bumper crop of illustration talent.

See more of Brad Jay”s work at bradleyjay.co.uk

Dan Woodger‘s B features sunglasses wearing dinosaurs. Monsters is something of a specialism…

More of Woodger’s work at danwoodger.com

This series of four posters for silent films from the 1920s is by Grace Coombes

See more work by Grace Coombes at her site, gracecoombes.com

Illustrator Harry Bloom’s work is super. Above is a piece entitled Lo-Fi, and below is his Battle Of Britain triptych.

Also loved his Teenage Kicks series of illustrations invariably showing a teenage couple having a snog. Wherever they may be.

Check out Bloom’s work at harry-bloom.com

Above and below are examples of Ivan Franco’s monochromatic illustration work. See more at ivanfranco.co.uk

Megan Pearce’s work is great and her website well worth checking out at meganpearce.co.uk

To see more of Paul Layzell’s work (Smoker, shown above), visit paul-layzell.com

This illustration – Oh, How The Minutes Drag – is by Pete Gamlen. More of his work can be found at petegamlen.com

Phoebe Henry’s portfolio reveals a love of photography and creating unusual images such as this one. More at phoebeelizahenry.com

This image is from Rosanna Webster’s Tribalism project. See more at rosannawebster.com

Love Tessa Lyons‘ large landscape drawings. Above is her impression of Ersfjordbotn in Norway, rendered in indian ink, and below is a charcoal and chalk drawing (it’s two metres wide) of a scene at Black Sail, Buttermere in the Lake District in the UK.

Brighton’s Illustration (and Graphic Design) degree show is coming to London and will run from July 8-12 at the Rochelle School, Arnold Circus, E2. Full details and also for links to all the exhibitors’ portfolio sites, visit brighton2011.com

What's the story?

The Storytelling issue, Oct/Nov 2017, is out now.
We invited writers to respond to our cover image
this month: read their stories inside.
PLUS: Tom Gauld, Oliver Jeffers, Giphy & S-Town

Buy the issue

The Annual 2018

The Creative Review Annual is one of the most
respected and trusted awards for the creative
industry. We celebrate the best creative work from
the past year, those who create it and commission it.

Enter now

DESIGNER

South East London - Competitive

MOTION GRAPHICS DESIGNER

London - £35,000 - £40,000

CREATIVE INTERIOR DESIGNER

Birmingham - Salary £30-£35k

CREATIVE RECRUITMENT CONSULTANT

Leeds, West Yorkshire - £20,000 - 30,000