The Photography Annual 2020 Winners

Welcome to the Photography Annual

Each year, we celebrate the best photographic work of the year and those who make and commission it.


The winners of the open competition can be found below. To pick the winning work this time, we had a two-stage judging process, with 18 judges looking at the entered work remotely, before five (Dean Davies, Clare Grafik, Yassa Khan, Ronan Mckenzie, and Rebecca Swift) came together on a Zoom call to pick the winners. There are two types of awards: Honourable Mentions, which recognise significant work, and Winners, for those projects of exceptional quality.


In addition, this year we have introduced a new award, the Award for Change, which recognises the work of an individual or group working to bring change to the industry. Plus, in our Zeitgeist section, we profile the work of five photographers, chosen by the Creative Review editorial team, who have had a breakthrough year.


I would like to thank our judges for all their hard work: Alexander Coggin, Julie Cook, Dean Davies, Gem Fletcher, Claire Grafik, Jeffrey Henson Scales, Catherine Hyland, Yassa Khan, David Lane, Annie Masciavè, Ronan Mckenzie, Mo Mfinanga, Chiara Bardelli Nonino, Karen Okonkwo, Rebecca Swift, Suzanne Tromp, Sara Urbaez, and Tori West.


Finally, I would also like to thank Studio PI for supporting the Photography Annual this year. You can read all about their work here.


Eliza Williams, Editor

Own the Photography Annual 2020

In what can only be described as a unique year, Creative Review’s celebration of the year’s best photography provides an insight into the pervading moods of 2020. You can have your own copy of The Photography Annual 2020, delivered right to your doorstep

Buy Now