Spiritualized and Farrow: made for each other

Spiritualized’s Jason Pierce cut several minutes off his album Ladies and gentlemen we are floating in space just so that the running time looked better typographically on the packaging. His partnership with designer Mark Farrow has produced some of the finest sleeve design of recent times. CR interviewed the pair of them on the eve of the release of Spiritualized’s new album

Why am I being asked to register with CR?

Every month, hundreds of thousands of people visit us here on our website. The more we know about our visitors, the better and more relevant content we can provide for them. And, yes, knowing our audience better helps us find commercial partners too. We just ask you to provide a few details about yourself and what you do. Don't worry, we won't share your information with other parties, unless you give us permission to do so. In return you can:

Submit your work

Send us your latest projects, which we will review and consider to be featured on our website or in print.

Access our full archive

This site contains over 10 years’ of CR content, including magazine articles. Register to gain full access to everything.

Receive our newsletter

Our daily email of inspiration and insight from the creative industries, curated by the CR editorial team

Hide Comments13 Show Comments
  • Post a comment
  • Sylvia 25/11/2010 at 12:34 am

    I agree– I think it would be so awesome for them to go on tour with an orchestra.. I know it’s so expensive, but it would be so amazing to see them in concert with an orchestra. I’d have to go to at least three of the shows.

    -Sylvia
    Phoenix Art Gallery

  • Peter 02/07/2008 at 10:11 pm

    There’s a microsite up for the new spiritualized album as well with pretty cool video stuff.

    http://www.spiritualizedharmonies.com

  • Martin Kann 28/05/2008 at 7:51 am

    I have always been very inspired by Farrow/Spiritualized. Especially when I designed the cover for Bergman Rock in 2003. It was almost like a tribute to them. Intersting similarities to “Songs In A&E”. Like a full circle.
    Check it out:
    http://www.martinkann.com/pages/design.html

  • drugshovel 17/05/2008 at 7:20 pm

    Love the interview. Very informative. Been listening to Spiritualized since the beginning. And it’s nice to know the history of each records design. Thanks.

  • Carl P. 10/05/2008 at 1:26 am

    Spiritualized albums are always an exciting prospect, and the album covers are a huge part of that – they are up there with the greatest album covers of all time, right alongside ‘Sgt Pepper’ or ‘Sticky Fingers’ – provocative, engaging, and I personally love the sense of restrained minimalism about them all. They feel special.

    It’s great to have that excitement back in record shops. The Mp3 is dead, long live the CD!

    I have all of the Spiritualized albums and I am sincerely looking forward to this one joining the collection.

    Welcome back Jason! You’ve been missed!

  • Andi 30/04/2008 at 4:13 pm

    Great artwork and packaging, but WHAT A BAND. Hopefully they’ll tour with an orchestra this summer.

  • a lawless 29/04/2008 at 1:49 pm

    insightful interview.j spaceman continuously raises the bar not just for for others,but himself included.
    it’s good to know that there’s people who still actually care about music in these times of manufactured dross.i’ll hum some spiritualized tunes now and i suggest you go buy the albums so you can too ed.

  • T 28/04/2008 at 12:41 am

    Brilliant. I cannot wait for their new record.

  • J Spacecat 24/04/2008 at 7:51 pm

    Great interview. Great band. Great artist.

  • Simon 24/04/2008 at 1:00 pm

    “I can’t…hum a single Spiritualized song”

    I’m pretty sure you can hum all of them.

  • Ed Wright 24/04/2008 at 11:39 am

    It’s just occurred to me that I can’t name or hum a single Spiritualized song, but I know and love all their graphics. Great stuff.

  • Edward Lamb 24/04/2008 at 9:54 am

    I have very fond memories of being a 17 year old boy, unpacking Ladies and gentleman we are floating in space on the bus after buying it.

    A part of me wishes that I’d never opened it now, as it lies alongside all of my jewel case CD’s battered and deformed.

  • Gregg 23/04/2008 at 11:29 pm

    Great Article! These guys get what music is supposed to be all about! A total experience!

The Photography Annual 2017

Creative Review’s Photography Annual seeks to
celebrate great images – those who take them
and those who commission them. View all the
winning work in our current print issue

Buy the issue

The Annual 2018

The Creative Review Annual is one of the most
respected and trusted awards for the creative
industry. We celebrate the best creative work from
the past year, those who create it and commission it.

Enter now

SENIOR DESIGNER

Farringdon

SENIOR CREATIVE DESIGNER

Northamptonshire

GRAPHIC DESIGNER

Gloucestershire (GB)