UK Music Video Award Winners

Shynola’s animated vid for Coldplay’s Strawberry Swing picked up the coveted Video of the Year award at this year’s UK MVAs

Strawberry Swing for Coldplay, directed by Shynola


The winners of this year’s UK MVAs were announced last night at a gala ceremony in London last night, with Shynola‘s animated vid for Coldplay’s Strawberry Swing picking up the coveted Video of the Year award…


Shynola picked up the top gong, as well as the awards for Best Animation and Best Rock Video, despite courting controversy with the promo. Since its release, the directing team has faced accusations of completing the video in post rather than by hand as claimed, as well as of plagiarism (a claim rounded refuted by Shynola via the medium of pdf). Still, in a year where surprising or ambitious videos were a little thin on the ground, it is surely a worthy winner.


The other big awards went to Martin de Thurah, who won the Best Director Award; David Wilson, who picked up the Best New Director Award; Tim Nash, who won Best Commissioner; Malachy McAnenny, who won Best Producer; and Carole Burton-Fairbrother, who won the Outstanding Achievement Award. The Icon Award went to director Dawn Shadforth.


And here are the other winners in full…

Best Pop Video: Will Young – Changes
Director: Martin de Thurah
Producer: Liz Kessler
Prod co: Academy Films
Commissioner: James Hackett


Best Indie/Alternative Video: Department of Eagles – No One Does It Like You
Directors: Patrick Daughters and Marcel Dzama
Exec Producer: Lana Kim
Prod co: The Directors Bureau
Commissioner: Simon Halliday


Best Dance Video: The Presets – If I Know You
Director: Eva Husson
Producer: Mourad Belkeddar
Prod co: El Niño
Commissioner: Glen Goetze


Best Urban Video: Wiley – Cash In My Pocket
Director: Kim Gehrig
Producer: Dom Thomas
Prod co: Academy Films
Commissioner: Tim Nash


Best International Video: Lady Gaga – Paparazzi
Director: Jonas Akerlund
Producer: Steven Johnson
Prod co: Serial Pictures
Commissioner: Nicole Erlich


Best Budget Video (Pop, Dance, Urban): Speech Debelle – The Key
Director: Anthony Dickenson
Prod co: Pulse Films
Commissioner: Martin Dobson


Best Budget Video (Rock, Indie, Alternative): Moray McLaren – We Got Time
Director: David Wilson
Producer: James Bretton
Prod co: BlinkInk/Colonel Blimp
Commissioner: Bart Yates


Best Art Director: Tom Gander for Sway by The Kooks, click here to view
Director: Marco Puig
Producer: Oliver Goodrum
Prod co: Amarillo


Best Styling: Aldene Johnson for Drumming by Florence & The Machine, click here to view
Director: Dawn Shadforth
Producer: Cindy Burnay
Prod co: Black Dog Films


Best Cinematography: Lasse Frank for Flowers And Football Tops by Glasvegas, click here to view
Director: Martin de Thurah
Producer: Liz Kessler
Prod co: Academy Films


Best Telecine: Paul Harrison at Moving Picture Company for Candy by Paolo Nutini
Director: Nez
Producer: Georgina Filmore
Prod co: Colonel Blimp


Best Editing: Tom Lindsay for Falling Down by Oasis
Director: WIZ
Producer: Ben Cooper
Prod co: Factory Films


Best Visual Effects: Johan Drehn and Martin de Thurah for Flowers And Football Tops by Glasvegas, click here to view
Director: Martin de Thurah
Producer: Liz Kessler
Prod co: Academy Films


Best Music Ad (TV or online): Ministry of Sound – Chilled album
Director: John Le Bear
Prod co: Fold7
Commissioner: Ministry of Sound


Best Live Music Coverage: McFly – Radio:Active: Live At Wembley
Director: Paul Caslin
Producer: Audrey Davenport
Commissioner: Richard Rasuman
Prod co: JJ Stereo


The Innovation Award: Oasis – Dig Out Your Soul In The Streets
Director: The Malloys
Commissioner: Emma Greengrass
Prod co: HSI


What's the story?

The Storytelling issue, Oct/Nov 2017, is out now.
We invited writers to respond to our cover image
this month: read their stories inside.
PLUS: Tom Gauld, Oliver Jeffers, Giphy & S-Town

Buy the issue

The Annual 2018

The Creative Review Annual is one of the most
respected and trusted awards for the creative
industry. We celebrate the best creative work from
the past year, those who create it and commission it.

Enter now


South East London


Burnley, Lancashire (GB)